Almost 45,000 older folks and those with disabilities are receiving VERY much needed financial assistance. Starting the following week, Connecticut tenants who applied will receive back approximately $24 million. For married couples, the rebates are up to $900, while for singles, they are up to $700.
According to Governor Ned Lamont, checks from the Connecticut Renter’s Rebate program will start to be distributed this week. However, if you missed the deadline, you still have the chance to apply by filing an extension.
What Is The Renter’s Rebate Program?
Renters in Connecticut who are elderly or completely disabled and whose earnings do not exceed specific thresholds are eligible for reimbursement under state law. This program may be available to those who rent an apartment, a room, communal housing, or a mobile home.
For married couples, renter rebates are up to $900; for singles, they are up to $700. The amount of the renter’s rebate is determined by a graded income scale, as well as the amount of rent and utility payments (excluding telephone) made in the year before the application year.
Who Is Eligible For The Renter’s Rebate Program?
The recipient or spouse must be 65 years old or older, 50 years old or older, and the surviving spouse of a renter who at the time of the renter’s death had qualified and was entitled to tax relief, provided that such spouse was residing with such renter at the time of the renter’s death, or 18 years old or older and qualified to receive Social Security Disability benefits. must satisfy the state’s one-year residency requirement. Grants are determined by the income guidelines under CGS Section 12-170e.
How To Apply For An Extension?
Renters have until November 15, 2022, to obtain an extension from OPM (Office of Policy and Management) If they fail to file during the allotted time frame.
A doctor’s statement stating that the renter’s medical condition prevented them from applying during the authorized filing period must be submitted with the request for an extension of time to file. The extension request must reach OPM via delivery confirmation or be postmarked by November 15th.
Applications can be made to your town social service agency or the Assessor’s office.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Essential Requirements And Conditions Does A Renter In The State Of Connecticut Have To Meet To Be Eligible For A Grant Under The Tax Relief Program (Section 12-170d )?
(1) Prior to submitting an application for partial reimbursement of his or her rent and utility bills, the applicant must have resided in Connecticut for at least one year.
(2) The applicant, or spouse if they are cohabitating, must be at least 50 years old and the surviving spouse of a renter who, at the time of his or her death, had met the requirements and was entitled to tax relief under this chapter, provided the spouse was cohabitating with the renter at the time of the renter’s death. The surviving spouse is in charge of providing proof. People under 65 who receive Social Security Disability benefits or disability benefits that the Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management deems similar are also qualified (Government or Railroad disability plans)
(3) The applicant’s qualifying income in the calendar year 2021 cannot be higher than $46,400 if they are married or other, or $38,100 if they are single. Regardless of living arrangements, the combined income of the husband and wife must be considered when determining qualifying income for married or other couples, unless they are lawfully separated.
(4) The applicant must not have received financial aid or a subsidy from federal, state, county, or municipal money; this exclusion includes payments for Social Security, energy assistance, SSI benefits, veteran’s benefits, subsidized housing, and cash support from the DSS. If the amount of cash assistance is less than the Renter’s Rebate, it will be subtracted from the check as long as there is still $10.00 or more. The cheque will not be sent if it is not at least $10.00.
(5) The applicant’s total rental and utility payments cannot be more than 35% of the applicant’s qualifying income. There won’t be a rebate check if it does.
What Occurs If The Applicant Fails To Submit An Application Within The Designated Filing Period?
- Renters have until December 15, 2022, to make a request to OPM for an extension of time to file if they fail to file during the authorized period. A doctor’s statement stating that the renter’s medical condition prevented them from applying during the authorized filing period must be submitted with the request for an extension of time to file. The extension request must reach OPM by December 15th or be mailed by then.
What Documents From Social Security Are Acceptable As Proof Of Disability?
- The benefit year must be covered by the proof of disability.
(1) A Medicare premium statement on an SSA-1099 form serves as the greatest evidence of impairment. People who are disabled cannot get Medicare benefits until they have been so for two years; however, if the applicant is under 62, an SSA-1099 form without Medicare is admissible as long as the claim SS# (box 8) matches the SS# (box 2).
(2) A TPQY form that can be obtained from Social Security and shows that the person is disabled is appropriate if it is for the benefit year. The phrase “eligible as of [date]” will do.
(3) A Social Security form (such as the TPQY or another form) proving that the applicant received Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits throughout the benefit year.
(4) A letter of the award that is current (within three years).
(5) A recent Social Security Benefit Verification Letter.
For More Questions & Answers Click Here To Download The Renter Question & Answer Booklet
Call the program hotline at 860.418.6377 if you have any questions about the Renters’ Rebate Programme.
If you are asked to leave a message, be sure to state your name and contact information clearly and slowly. A representative from the program will respond as soon as they can.
The fax number to use if you need to send papers for the Renters’ Rebate Program is 860.326.0494.