WhatsApp is beginning to roll out a new feature that allows users to hide their online status from specific people.
Android beta users of the Meta-owned instant messaging software can now hide their online status, according to sources.
According to the name, the feature allows users to choose who can and cannot see their online status.
WABetaInfo first reported on the feature's rollout, and these changes will be available to all users in the coming months.
WhatsApp has changed the 'Last Seen' privacy setting to 'Last Seen and Online,' according to the report
There are currently 3 Last Seen options: 'Nobody,' 'Contacts,' and 'Everyone.' With the update, you can hide your status from certain people by selecting 'Everyone except...'
The feature is currently in beta, so you are unlikely to have it unless you are a beta tester, in which case you should update your app to use the feature.
Users can change who can and cannot see their online status by going to Settings > Account > Privacy > Last Seen and Online.
WhatsApp, the Meta-owned instant messaging app, is also working on new features, such as the ability to message yourself.
We're not sure what this feature does, but according to a new report, when you link to a PC, iOS, or Android device, people will see their name on the WhatsApp chat list.