California DUI Laws & Penalties
Vehicle Code 23152(a) VC, which makes it illegal to drive under the influence of alcohol.
There are two main DUI laws for adult drivers in California:
Vehicle Code 23152(b) makes it illegal to drive with a
blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
of.08% or higher.
Most people in California who are arrested for DUI are charged with both of these sections. The Vehicle Code 23152(f) VC talks about driving while high on drugs.
Whether you have had a DUI in the past.
If anyone gets hurt because you were driving drunk.
The penalties for driving while intoxicated (DUI) depend on two main things:
DUIs are "priority" offences in California. This means that if you get caught driving drunk more than once in a ten-year period, the consequences will get worse each time.
This 10-year period is a "washout" or "lookback." It covers "wet reckless" driving convictions in California and DUIs in other states.
Informal probation ("summary") for three to five years.
When a person is found guilty of driving under the influence for the first time in California, they could face the following penalties:
Up to six months in a
Between $390-$1,000 in fines.
A three- or nine-month alcohol and drug education program that has been approved by the court (AB541 class).
Before driving again, the judge could order the offender to install an IID. Defendant's licence will be suspended for 6-10 months. This is usually a "