Best Countries Where Expats Can Avoid Social Security Double Taxation

Expats frequently ignore the Social Security contributions needed for US citizens working abroad and are unaware that their benefits may be obtained in a foreign nation.

Depending on citizenship, residency status, and US-country agreements, expats may receive Social Security payments abroad.

If they are citizens of the United States and have paid into the Social Security system, all citizens are eligible for benefits from Social Security.

To be eligible for Social Security retirement benefits, you must have 40 quarters of coverage (credits) or 10 years of labor and payment into US Social Security.

The United States has Totalization Agreements with 30 countries, the most recent additions being Iceland and Slovenia.

These agreements lower dual coverage and taxation for foreign workers and address benefits coverage gaps for dual citizens.

The agreements eliminate double taxes for expats in those countries, yet many still pay into both systems for one benefit. Agreements are in place with the following countries:

– Australia – Austria – Belgium – Brazil – Canada – Chile – Czech Republic – Denmark – Finland – France – Germany

– Greece – Hungary – Iceland – Ireland – Italy – Japan – Luxembourg – Netherlands – Norway – Poland         

– Portugal – Slovak Republic – Slovenia – South Korea – Spain – Sweden – Switzerland – United Kingdom – Uruguay