12 States Offer Parents
$1,000 In Direct Payments
Millions of low-income families in a dozen states will be eligible for an additional child tax credit of up to $1,000 per child each year.
Families earning less than $25,000 can receive a credit of up to $1,000 per, while those earning up to $30,000 can receive a reduced credit.
This will be available to persons with incomes of $75,000 or less ($85,000 for married taxpayers filing jointly) who have children under 6 by Dec. 31, 2022.
Governor Ned Lamont signed a bill this summer allowing eligible Connecticut families to collect a $250 tax credit per child, up to three.
Families in Idaho can receive a $205 child tax credit per child. This, however, is set to expire in January 2026.
The amount you can get is limited by $7.50 for every $1,000 of AGI exceeding $400,000 for joint returns and $200,000 for everyone else.
Maryland residents with an adjusted gross income (AGI) of less than $6,000 can get $500 in state child tax credits per child.
Households earning $80,000 or less can claim under the new law, which was signed by Governor Phil Murphy.
7. New Jersey
The Empire child tax credit in New York provides assistance to families with children beyond the age of four but under the age of 17.
8. New York
On March 8, 2022, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham signed House Bill 163, which will offer qualifying New Mexicans with a child tax credit of up to $175 per child.
9. New Mexico
Oklahoma families can select between a nonrefundable credit equal to 5% of the federal CTC and a nonrefundable credit equal to 20% of the federal Child and Dependent Care Tax Credit.
A child tax credit of up to $750 will be available to approximately 115,000 families across the state of Rhode Island.
11. Rhode Island
Families earning more than $125,000 who claim the credit will lose $20 for every $1,000 earned above $125,000, with a ceiling of $175,000 set by the state legislature.